The No Expansion Professional League!

1983 Standings

About the League

        The NXPL is an APBA/Baseball For Windows simulation league that is dedicated to exploring the direction the Major Leagues would have taken if not for the expansions that began in 1961. The league uses the official APBA disk, with a one-pass run of Merlin run on it to adjust pitching grades. The league plays one five- or six-game series per week.

        The league has completed its 23rd season, the first 14 1/2 of which were under the direction of Dave ‘The Beast’ Elkin. Chris Strovel served as commissioner from mid-1975 through 1980 and again starting in 1983, with Peter Kilmarx taking the reins for ’81 and ’82. The league transitioned to BBW 5.75 for 1978.

        Each team gets to protect one rookie from its source team’s crop of rookies, without cost, each year. In 1970, the rule was modified to allow a 2nd franchise pick to be protected at the cost of the team’s first-round draft pick. In 1976, the league decided to let a franchise protect as many players as it wanted, at the continuing cost of its draft picks. In 1977, an amazing bumper crop of rookies saw Detroit tag an astounding six franchise picks. Seattle will protect seven in 1984.

        St. Louis won an exciting World Series in 1982, mirroring real life, though the Cards defeated Detroit, not the non-NXPL-existent Milwaukee Brewers. The league has seen great parity over the years. There have only been 24 100-win teams in 23 seasons, with most of them coming in the early years of the league.